post #1 of 5 Old 08-18-2015, 09:36 PM Thread Starter
Nicx1st

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mazda 2 Engine Swap?!

Hey guys,
My name is Nick.
I need some advice on my Mazda 2 Engine Swap...
Is it better to do an engine swap with the Mazda Speed 3 Turbo engine?
I love speed and power but I just want to know is it going to be a hard swap or easy drop in swap with minor troubles getting it bolted in?
Please I need help... I'm having a hard time finding information for this swap build.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-31-2015, 09:19 PM
yanbros

Hi, newbie here. I have a 2006 Mazda 2 DY 1.5(A) also looking for an engine swap. Any info provided would be greatly appreciated.
post #3 of 5 Old 09-20-2015, 08:30 PM
SirSidewaystheThird

It is possible, Mazda built a concept 2 in 2011 that had the 2.3 MZR from the Speed3 (albeit with DI, but size shouldn't be significantly affected by that). However, that's not a common swap, to my knowledge it's never been done outside of that concept. Therefore, it will be very expensive, since all the mounting hardware, exhaust and probably intake will have to be custom made. You'll also need to find space for an intercooler (probably need a higher hood with a scoop to accommodate that), and a larger radiator in addition to the engine. The stock transmission and differential won't hold up to the extra torque, so you'll have to stuff an MS3 (or other, more robust aftermarket) clutch/transmission/diff combo in. To handle the additional power and weight, you'll want wider, gripper tires, and probably some stiffer springs and dampers. If you're doing anything more than highway pulls and tooling around town you'll want some good brakes, probably something bigger than stock.